THE ETERNAL launch ‘Under The Black’ lyric video; new album SKINWALKER out now

Photo credit: AJ Savolainen

Finnish-Australian metallers THE ETERNAL have released their long-awaited seventh studio album, Skinwalker through Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM). It’s way more than a new album though: marking some kind of fresh start of the group with a renewed line-up, the 9-track offering doesn’t only please long-time followers of the band but also appeals to many new listeners outside of their previous fan base by successfully exploring new sonic territories besides their comfort zone. Skinwalker can now be enjoyed in its full splendour, and to mark the occasion, the group have prepared a video for the track ‘Under The Black,’ which can also be found on the album.

Stream/purchase the track:

The track offers a compelling showcase of THE ETERNAL‘s progressive inclinations, blending dynamic shifts and emotive storytelling into a captivating sonic journey. With the introduction of guest Santeri Kallio‘s (AMORPHIS) Hammond organ, the track ignites into motion, driven by its pulsating energy. Guided by expressive guitar work and propelled by commanding drums and resounding bass lines, the listener is lead through a series of exhilarating peaks and valleys, where haunting vocals take centre stage. Dynamically, the track navigates the spectrum from fragile intimacy to bombastic progressive metal, showcasing THE ETERNAL‘s adeptness at crafting multifaceted compositions.

Order Skinwalker in your preferred physical format [CD-digipak or transparent/black marbled 2LP], stream it on your favourite digital service provider (DSP), or order it digitally now, here:

Don’t forget to subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube to stay updated and listen to ‘Under The Black’ along with other new tracks in the “RPM New Releases” playlist on Spotify. Subscribe here:

Skinwalker is a continuation of THE ETERNAL‘s rich musical legacy and yet is set to be a defining moment creatively for the band. The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (AMORPHIS), Santeri Kallio (AMORPHIS), Sami Yli-Sirniö (KREATOR) and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (YAT-KHA) to name a few. Recorded at guitarist/singer Mark Kelson‘s Lucidity Sound Studios and Jan Rechberger‘s Moon Unit Studios and produced by KelsonRechberger as well as guitarist Richie Poate, the record was mixed by Mark and Jan at Moon Unit before sending it off to Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia. In the end, creative force Kelson was even responsible for the artwork, supported by the prominent skills of Travis Smith (OPETHAMORPHIS etc.).